Orchid Arrangement With Ikebana Principles

Ikebana means “the Japanese art of arranging flowers”.

There are several schools of Ikebana and they vary in styles. Yet, the same basic principles adhered by all schools results to simpler but eye-catching flower arrangements. 

Here, I’m demonstrating Minimalism. 

As the history and teachings of Ikebana are closely related to Buddhism, there are strong emphasis in keeping the flower arrangements natural and graceful. Beauty expressed in minimal number of blooms (or flowers) sprinkled in between leaves or branches. Clear lines and structure are the image of heaven, man and earth.

In my design, the orchids are the man, enveloped by the tall leaves of heaven and earth.  

Flowers: Purple Orchids and New Zealand Flax (Leaves) Yellow Wave
Vase: Basic Ikebana vase

5 thoughts on “Orchid Arrangement With Ikebana Principles

    • Good Monday Harris! Thank you so much for liking the design. Yes, simple can be interesting too isn’t =)?
      Oh I checked out your wordpress. You have a good site there. Keep it up and best of luck!

  1. Have been an admirer of Ikebana flower arrangement. I think it is to me a very artistic way of presenting the beauty of nature, especially the use of flowers and leaves, and the use of space in the arrangement. I did not realize that it is connected with Buddhism in its simplicity. My son just turned into a Shaman and is in the process of getting a book published….I hope he makes it.

    I will be arranging flowers for a Spring botique and one of them will be an Ikebana arrangement. Thank you

    • Hi Guia, best of luck to your son. I reckon shamanism is tough work and publishing a book is probably tougher.
      Yes, the monks would place their meticulous flower arrangement at the altars. If you would like to find out more about the origins of Ikebana, I would recommend “Ikebana = The Art of Arranging Flowers by Shozo Sato”.
      The price of the book is steep but the extensive explanation of Ikebana makes it all worth it =).

      Hey send me a picture of the arrangement for the Spring Boutique. I love to share works by flower enthusiats.
      Happy Monday to you.

  2. Pingback: Ikebana Minimalism with Sunflower « 365ofbloom

Leave a comment